Programs by Campus


Gender Studies



Karma Lochrie*

Graduate Faculty

(An asterisk [*] denotes membership in the University Graduate School faculty with the endorsement to direct doctoral disser­tations.)

Martha C. Kraft Professor of Humanities

Fedwa Malti-Douglas*

Director of Graduate Studies

Alexander M. Doty*

Founding Professor

M. Jeanne Peterson* (Emerita, History)


Judith A. Allen* (History), Alexander M. Doty* (Communication and Cul­ture), Fedwa Malti-Douglas* (Comparative Literature; Adjunct, Law), Stephanie A. Sanders* (The Kinsey Institute), Suzanna D. Walters*, Richard R. Wilk* (Anthropology)

Associate Professors

Lessie Jo Frazier* (Adjunct, History), Sara Friedman* (Anthropology), LaMonda Horton-Stallings (African-American and African Diaspora Studies), Susan Stryker*,  Brenda R. Weber* (Adjunct, American Studies, Cultural Studies, English)

Assistant Professors

Marlon Bailey* (African American and African Diaspora Stud­ies), Colin R. Johnson* (Adjunct, American Studies, History, Human Biology)

Senior Lecturer

Jennifer E. Maher

Affiliated Graduate Faculty


Wendy Gamber* (History), Susan Gubar* (English), Ellen D. Ketterson* (Biology), Karma Lochrie* (English), Alyce Miller* (English), Brian Powell* (Sociology), Jean C. Robinson* (Political Science), Susan Hoffman Williams* (School of Law), William L. Yarber* (Applied Health Science, Rural Center for AIDS/STD Prevention)

Associate Professors

Purnima Bose* (English), Claudia L. Breger* (Germanic Studies), Maria Bucur-Deckard* (History), Lynn Duggan (School of Social Work), Mary Favret* (English), Jennifer Fleissner* (English), Patricia C. Ingham* (English), Stephanie C. Kane* (Criminal Justice), Sarah Phillips* (Anthropology), Colleen Ryan-Scheutz* (French and Italian), Susan Seizer* (Communication and Cul­ture), Margaret “Peg” Sutton* (Education), Deborah Widiss (Law)

Assistant Professors

Penelope Anderson (English), Beth Buggenhagen (Anthropology), Mary L. Gray* (Communication and Culture), Terrell Scott Herring* (English), Marissa J. Moorman* (History), Amrita Myers* (History), Julia Roos (History), Micol Seigel (African-American and African Diaspora Studies), Beate Sissenich (Political Science), Kirsten Sword (History), Shane Vogel* (English)

Academic Advisor

Alexander Doty*, Memorial Hall East M014, (812) 856-4679

Academic Bulletins

PDF Version

Click here for the PDF version.