Departments & Programs


Interdepartmental Major in Economics and Mathematics

Required Courses

The interdepartmental major in economics and mathematics is designed to enable students to model economic questions mathematically, and to analyze and solve those models. Students must meet the following course requirements. Any course may be replaced by the honors equivalent.

  1. Economics: E201, E202, E321, E322 and at least three additional economics courses numbered above E322, including at least one at the 400 level. E370, E496, and Y398 cannot be used to meet this requirement.
  2. Mathematics: M211-M212 or M213, M301 or M303, M311 and at least two courses, including one at the 400 level, from one of the following mathematics areas: analysis (M312, M413, M414, M415, M420); differential equations (M343, M344, M441, M442); applied mathematics (M371, M447, M448, M451, M471, M472); or probability and statistics (M366*, M463, M464, M466).
  3. Statistics: the sequence Mathematics M360-M366, or Economics E370, or Mathematics M365.

*Note: M366 has a prerequisite of M360; see requirement 3 below. For students who qualify for honors, Mathematics S499 may replace the second course in a mathematical area with approval of the Department of Mathematics.

Special Considerations
  1. No more than 3 credit hours of Honors Thesis (Economics E499 or Mathematics S499) may be counted toward the major.
  2. It is recommended that students planning to pursue a Ph.D. in economics consult with the Department of Economics concerning classes in the areas of analysis, econometrics, and statistics.
  3. It is recommended that students in actuarial studies take Mathematics M360, M366, M371, M463, M464, and one course from M466 or Economics E471. It is recommended that these students also consult with the Department of Economics concerning relevant seminar courses. Students should consult the "Actuarial Studies" section of the Department of Mathematics entry in this Bulletin.
  4. Students must also complete all degree requirements of the College of Arts and Sciences.