Departments, Programs and Centers



  • Chair: Professor Robert G. Barrows
  • Professors: Robert G. Barrows,David J. Bodenhamer, Bernard Friedman (Emeritus), Didier Gondola, Ralph Gray (Emeritus), John R. Kaufman-McKivigan, Miriam Z. Langsam (Emerita), Philip V. Scarpino, William H. Schneider, Peter J. Sehlinger (Emeritus), Mary Seldon (Emerita), Jan Shipps (Emerita), Marianne S. Wokeck
  • Associate Professors: Kevin Cramer, Kenneth E. Cutler (Emeritus), Sabine Jessner (Emerita), Jason Kelly, Daniella Kostroun, Justin Libby (Emeritus), Monroe Little Jr., Elizabeth Brand Monroe, Berthold Riesterer (Emeritus), Kevin C. Robbins, Nancy Marie Robertson, Eric Saak, Michael Snodgrass, Xin Zhang
  • Assistant Professors: Sheila M. Cooper (Emerita), Modupe Labode, Rebecca Schrum
  • Senior Lecturers: Erik Lindseth, Anita Morgan
  • Adjunct Professors: John Dichtl, National Council on Public History; P.M.G. Harris; Elizabeth Kryder-Reid, Anthropology (Museum Studies); David Vanderstel
  • Academic Advising: Cavanaugh Hall 504M, (317) 274-3811

The Department of History offers students the opportunity to better understand the human social condition through the systematic study of the human past. A variety of courses is offered, dealing with the history of the United States, Europe, Latin America, and some non-Western areas. The history major not only provides opportunities to serve the avocational interest of the liberal arts student, but also provides a foundation for continued work at the graduate level. Courses in history serve the student admirably in fulfilling the tradition of a liberal education. They also provide a solid basis for professional training in fields such as law, business, environmental affairs, historic preservation, public administration, and government.