Bachelor of Arts

Minors (Optional)

A minor shall consist of at least 15 credit hours with a grade of C— or higher and a cumulative grade point average of at least 2.0 in the minor field. (A minimum of 2 courses totaling at least 6 credit hours must be taken while in residence at IU Northwest.)

Students in one department (e.g., history) may satisfy requirements for a minor in another department (e.g., anthropology). Students may have more than one minor. Students' major(s) and minor(s) may be listed on their transcripts. Students must advise the recorder in the College of Arts and Sciences of the minor(s) and receive advisement from the minor department.

Students who have been awarded a baccalaureate degree cannot at a later date change the degree to include additional majors and/or minors.

The Department of Communication requires a minor; students in communication should check with their advisor about the requirements for a minor.

The following minors are available in the College of Arts and Sciences:

  • Afro-American Studies
  • Anthropology
  • Biology
  • Canadian Studies
  • Chemistry
  • Communication
  • Computer Information Systems
  • Economics
  • English
  • Fine Arts
  • French
  • Geology
  • History
  • Latino Studies
  • Mathematics
  • Philosophy
  • Physics
  • Political Science
  • Psychology
  • Race-Ethnic Studies
  • Sociology
  • Spanish
  • Theatre
  • Women's and Gender Studies

Academic Bulletins

PDF Version

Click here for the PDF version.