Departments & Programs

Central Eurasian Studies


The Department of Central Eurasian Studies (CEUS) covers the peoples of the Central Eurasian steppes, the northern forests, and the mountains from Turkey and Iran to Tibet. Central Eurasian peoples belong to four language groups: Uralic, Altaic, Iranian, and Tibetan. The Silk Road, the Mongol conquest, the Dalai Lamas, the Iranian kings and prophets, and the ancient folklore of Europe's eastern fringe are all covered in this department.

Students may count most of the department's courses toward such specific requirements of the College's bachelor's degree as distribution in arts and humanities or social and historical studies, culture studies, and foreign language.

Two-year sequences are offered in the following languages: Finnish, Estonian, and Hungarian in the Uralic family; Turkish, Mongolian, Uzbek, and Uyghur in the Altaic family; Persian and Pashto in the Iranian family; and Tibetan. The Altaic languages of Azerbaijani, Kazakh, and Turkmen, and the Iranian language Tajik are regularly offered in two-year sequences during summers. Kyrgyz, an Altaic language, is also offered on an occasional basis. Students should contact the department for information about language offerings.

Majors, Minors, and Programs

Contact Information

Central Eurasian Studies Department
Indiana University
Goodbody Hall 157
1011 E. Third Street
Bloomington, IN 47405

(812) 855-2398
ceus [at] indiana [dot] edu