Music instruction at Indiana University dates from 1893, but it was not until 1910 that a Department of Music offering music for credit was officially organized, with Charles D. Campbell as head. In 1919 Barzille Winfred Merrill was appointed head of the department and, in 1921, dean of the newly established School of Music. He was succeeded in 1938 by Dean Robert L. Sanders. In 1947 the appointment of Wilfred C. Bain as dean marked the beginning of a period of rapid growth and expansion. Under the 24-year leadership of Dean Charles H. Webb beginning in 1973, the School of Music continued its development and commitment to excellence. David G. Woods was appointed to the deanship in 1997, followed by the appointment of Dean Gwyn Richards in 2001. In the fall of 2005, the School of Music was named the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music in recognition of a major gift received in honor of Barbara and David H. Jacobs of Cleveland. Today the Jacobs School of Music is one of the most comprehensive and acclaimed institutions for the study of music and dance. It has educated and shaped the careers of countless performers, scholars, and music educators, who are leaders around the globe. Jacobs students come from all 50 states and more than 50 countries. They benefit from the intensity and focus of a world-class conservatory combined with the broad academic offerings of a major university.

Academic Bulletins

PDF Version

Click here for the PDF version.

Previous Bulletins

Students are ordinarily subject to the curricular requirements outlined in the Bulletin in effect at the start of their current degree. See below for links to previous Bulletins.