College of Arts and Sciences

General Studies Program

Required Areas of Learning


Each degree program requires completion of course work in three required areas of learning. To fulfill the requirements, students may choose from within each area of learning.

In each degree program, a student must demonstrate competency in each of the following areas: written communication, oral communication, mathematics, and computer literacy. All students are required to take an intensive writing course and a diversity course (see advisor for details) Students should discuss with their academic advisors the appropriate ways to establish competency.

The subject fields grouped under the three areas of learning follow. Similar subject fields from other colleges and universities may be applied toward fulfilling the area requirements.

Academic Bulletins

PDF Version

Click here for the PDF version.

IUN Bulletin

Click here to go to IUN Bulletin Homepage.