Indiana University

When you become a student at Indiana University, you join an academic community internationally known for the excellence and diversity of its programs. With 1,189 degree programs, the university attracts students from all 50 states and around the world. The full-time faculty numbers more than 5,000 and includes members of many academic societies such as the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Philosophical Society, and the National Academy of Sciences.

Indiana University was founded at Bloomington in 1820 and is one of the oldest and largest institutions of higher education in the Midwest. It serves nearly 120,000 students on eight campuses. The residential campus at Bloomington and the urban center at Indianapolis form the core of the university. Campuses in Gary, Fort Wayne, Kokomo, New Albany, Richmond, and South Bend join Bloomington and Indianapolis in bringing an education of high quality within reach of all of Indiana’s citizens.


The IU Northwest resident faculty numbers 177 men and women. They are assisted in their teaching responsibilities by associate faculty drawn from neighboring academic institutions, area businesses, local government, and not-for-profit agencies.

All resident faculty at IU Northwest have academic appointments from Indiana University. Their conditions of employment, rank, salary, fringe benefits, teaching and research expectations, and promotion are the same as their colleagues in respective departments at all Indiana University campuses.

The faculty of IU Northwest has its own organization, based upon a constitution written from principles embodied in the Indiana University Academic Handbook. Committees established by this faculty organization guide the conduct of the academic program at IU Northwest in a tradition that encourages individual faculty members to recommend policy in all areas affecting their interests and those of their students.


The student body at IU Northwest numbers more than 6,000 persons working toward certificates and associate, bachelor's, and master's degrees. Of that number, more than 575 are enrolled in graduate studies.

The rich economic, cultural, and racial diversity of the northwest region of the state of Indiana is found on the campus. About 75 percent of the students reside in Lake County; 19 percent reside in Porter County; and 4 percent reside in Jasper, Newton, LaPorte, Starke, and Pulaski Counties. Students, therefore, come with family backgrounds in steel and related industries, government agencies, service industries, the professions, and farming. With respect to the rich cultural and racial composition of the region, approximately 56 percent of the students are Caucasian, 23 percent are African American, 14 percent are Latino, and 7 percent are other groups. About 85 percent of the students at IU Northwest work full or part time while pursuing their education at the university. About 39 percent of the students enrolled at the campus are 26 years of age or older.

Alumni Services

The Alumni Office was established on the IU Northwest campus in 1967 when the IU Alumni Association staffed the local office with a field representative. There is now a full-time Alumni Relations Director to serve the alumni and students of Indiana University. The Office of Alumni Relations provides programming, maintains records, publishes communications, and provides services to those who are members of the IU Northwest Alumni Association, the Northwest Chapter of the IU Alumni Association, and the Neal- Marshall Club.

Academic Bulletins

PDF Version

Click here for the PDF version.