Indiana University
Indiana University was founded in 1820 at Bloomington and is one of the oldest institutions of higher education west of the Allegheny Mountains. Its facilities and programs are internationally known for their excellence and diversity. With 109,000 full- and part-time students on eight campuses, as well as a faculty of more than 6,000, Indiana University is one of the largest universities in the nation. The university offers 5,000 courses of instruction and 880 degree programs, and it attracts students from all 50 states and more than 150 countries.

Indiana University has eight campuses: Indiana University Bloomington, Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis, Indiana University Northwest (Gary), Indiana University South Bend, Indiana University–Purdue University Fort Wayne, Indiana University Kokomo, Indiana University Southeast (New Albany), and Indiana University East (Richmond). It also offers courses through Columbus, Elkhart, and many other sites. The university puts quality education within reach of all Indiana citizens.

Indiana University Kokomo
Indiana University Kokomo was built upon the foundations of another institution, the Kokomo Junior College. Organized in 1932, the Junior College offered a basic two-year collegiate program. Throughout its 13-year history, it maintained an average enrollment of about 75 students.

In 1945, the Junior College asked Indiana University to assume its function and to establish an extension center in the former Junior College building at 508 West Taylor Street. In 1947, to accommodate steadily increasing enrollment, the university purchased the Seiberling-Kingston mansion at 1200 West Sycamore Street. 

IU Kokomo’s main classroom building was occupied in 1965 on South Washington Street. Housing classrooms, lounges, faculty research facilities, and a community auditorium, it is located on a 51-acre site in the southern part of the city. 

Mission Statement
The mission of Indiana University Kokomo, a regional campus of Indiana University, is to enhance the educational and professional attainment of the residents of north central Indiana through effective teaching, learning, and civic engagement and by providing a wide range of bachelor's degrees, and a limited number of master's and associate degrees. Indiana University Kokomo is further dedicated to enhancing research, creative work, and other scholarly activity, promoting diversity and inclusion, and strengthening the economic and cultural vitality of the region and the state through a variety of community engagement, partnerships and programs.

PDF Version

Click here for the PDF version.