IU Bulletins HomeBloomington CampusIndianapolis Campusred
Indiana University

Search University Graduate School 2004-2005 Online Bulletin

University Graduate School 2004-2005 Online Bulletin Table of Contents

University Graduate School 2004-2005 Specific Graduate Program Information


University Graduate
School 2004-2005
Academic Bulletin

University Graduate School
Kirkwood Hall 111  
Indiana University 
Bloomington, IN 47405  
(812) 855-8853  
Toll Free (888) 335-7547  
Contact University Graduate School

Graduate Office
Union Building 518
Indiana University–Purdue University
Indianapolis, IN 46202
(317) 278-2490
Contact Graduate Office

Mass Communications

College of Arts and Sciences

Professor Walter Gantz and Associate Professor Trevor Brown

Graduate Faculty
Degree Offered
Program Information
Special Program Requirements
Doctor of Philosophy Degree

Graduate Faculty

(An asterisk [*] denotes associate membership in University Graduate School faculty.)

John Ahlhauser (Emeritus, Journalism), James Brown (Journalism), Richard Burke (Emeritus, Telecommunications), Dan Drew (Journalism), Jack Dvorak* (Journalism), Susan Eastman (Telecommunications), Walter Gantz (Telecommunications), Ralph Holsinger (Emeritus, Journalism), Peter Jacobi (Emeritus, Journalism), Annie Lang (Telecommunications), David Nord (Journalism), Christine Ogan (Journalism), David H. Weaver (Journalism), G. Cleveland Wilhoit (Journalism), Richard Yoakam (Emeritus, Journalism, Telecommunications)

Associate Professors
Donald Agostino (Telecommunications), Randall Beam* (Journalism), David Boeyink* (Journalism), Trevor Brown (Journalism), Bonnie Brownlee* (Journalism), Jon Dilts* (Journalism), Maria Grabe* (Journalism), Owen V. Johnson (Journalism), Michael McGregor (Telecommunications), Carol Polsgrove (Journalism), Harmeet Sawhney (Telecommunications), S. Holly Stocking (Journalism), Herbert Terry (Telecommunications), David Waterman (Telecommunications)

Assistant Professors
Christopher E. Beaudoin* (Telecommunications), Erik Bucy* (Telecommunications), Julia Fox* (Telecommunications)

Graduate Advisors
Associate Professor Linda Lawson, Ernie Pyle Hall 200, (812) 855-1699 (Journalism); Associate Professor Annie Lang, R-TV Center, (812) 855-2017 (Telecommunications)

Return to Top

Degree Offered

Doctor of Philosophy

Return to Top

Program Information

The Mass Communications Program is the doctoral program for the School of Journalism and the Department of Telecommunications. The program in mass communications prepares students (1) for teaching and research in mass communications, (2) for careers that demand advanced scholarship within professional media organizations, and (3) for careers in government that relate to mass media.

Special Program Requirements

See also general University Graduate School requirements.

Return to Top

Doctor of Philosophy Degree

See "Doctor of Philosophy Degree in Mass Communications" in the School of Journalism and the Department of Telecommunications entries for admission and degree requirements, course descriptions, and recommended courses in other departments.

Return to Top



G741 Ph.D. Research in Mass Communications (cr. arr.)**

G790 Readings and Research in Mass Communications (1-3 cr.)**

Return to Top

Indiana University
Office of Creative Services
Von Lee 319
517 East Kirkwood Avenue
Bloomington, IN 47408-4060

Last updated: 19 April 2018 18 53 12

Submit Questions or Comments
Copyright 2018 The Trustees of Indiana University