The Indiana University School of Dentistry (IUSD) is a member of the American Dental Education Association and is fully accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association.

IU’s dental school is one of the oldest in the nation. It was established as the Indiana Dental College in 1879 and acquired by Indiana University in 1925. It is the only dental school in the state.

The school is located on the campus of Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI), adjacent to the University Medical Center. Clinical facilities in the School of Dentistry are excellent, and patients are drawn from a population area of some 1 million people. The great variety of cases treated provides each student with abundant opportunity to perfect techniques.

The school also maintains dental clinics in Riley and University Hospitals, the Regenstrief Health Center (all at the Medical Center on the IUPUI campus), and at two off-campus sites.

Men and women who have graduated with IU’s Doctor of Dental Surgery (D.D.S.) degree and Master of Science in Dentistry (M.S.D.) degree currently are practicing dentistry and pursuing careers in related fields in nearly all of the 50 states and in many countries. Students may also earn the Ph.D. or the M.S. degree in dentistry and related science fields through IU’s University Graduate School.

Indiana University offers undergraduate programs in dental support fields at several IU campuses. A one-year program for dental assistants and a two-year associate degree program for dental hygienists* are offered at the Indianapolis, Fort Wayne, Gary, and South Bend campuses. A four-year bachelor’s degree program for dental hygienists is offered at Indianapolis and Fort Wayne. A two-year associate degree program in dental laboratory technology is offered at Fort Wayne only. Students interested in undergraduate programs should check with a counselor on the campus they will attend for specific requirements, which may vary. In addition, under the D.D.S. program at the School of Dentistry, it is possible to earn a B.A. degree in cooperation with the Indiana University College of Arts and Sciences. Other universities in Indiana also offer a combined degree program. In all instances, the bachelor’s degree is awarded by the undergraduate school attended, not by the IU School of Dentistry. Students who are interested in this type of program should consult their predental advisor.

This bulletin describes the opportunities available at IUSD and outlines the requirements for admission to and completion of its programs.

*Only five dental hygiene programs are available in Indiana—IU’s four programs and one offered by the University of Southern Indiana in Evansville.

Academic Bulletins